Lines Composed in a Wood on a Windy Day

August 13, 2009

My thesis is on Anne Brontë, and what I have termed ‘The Poetics of Confinement’. It takes into consideration her two novels, and fifty-nine poems, of which this one is possibly the most buoyant:

My soul is awakened, my spirit is soaring,

And carried aloft on the wings of the wind breeze;

Far around above, and around me, the wild wind is roaring,

Arousing to rapture the earth and the seas.

The long withered gra∫s in the sunshine shining is glancing

The bare trees are to∫sing their branches on high;

The dead leaves beneath them are merrily dancing,

The white clouds are scudding across the blue sky.

I wish I could see how the ocean is lashing,

The foam of its billows to wirl winds [sic] of spray,

I wish I could see how its proud waves are dashing

And hear the wild roar of their thunder to-day!

A Brontë  December

30th 1842

I have taken this directly from my transcription of the autograph manuscript copy, which I photocopied at the Pierpont Morgan Library in New York, when I was there in May. The curious ‘∫’ symbol represents Anne Brontë’s way of expressing a double-s construction in cursive.

Brontë wrote the following directly beneath: ‘Compos Composed in the Long-Plantation on a wild bright windy day.’

Leave a Reply

